Art / Fashion // Street / Local Talent / Locals / Mens Style / People / Rocker / Pop Chic

A traveling celeb in the making: meet Grant Legan

Watch this talent!

IMG_7055

There are people that are very talented, inspiring their community and there are others that go beyond, challenging the norms and therefore inspiring the world. Through their beauty inside out, I’ve been very privileged to meet über talented Chicagoans.

People like Grand Legan are just made for success- incredibly grateful, accepting and curious- he challenges the norm and dares to take that extra step ahead through global travels, variety of subjects and enough dabble with spaces to make him a master of his own style. Fashion wise, his style is ‘Americana, comfortable and a bit grunge’, in his own words.  Meet the real Grant, an up and coming fashion, photographer based in Chicago.

Born & raised in Illinois (Winfield & Geneva), with a big beautiful family that he refers to as ‘My everything’, Grant has always been a fan of wandering and adventuring through abandoned places and run down buildings (check out his work in a similar setting below). He’s grown up loving to draw, sing, and play dress up with his siblings. He’s has always been one to love and admire entertaining. He’s never wanted others to feel left out and never wanted to feel bored.  He’s filled time however he could. Grant has attempted many avenues of creativity landing him with a degree in Graphic design from St. Ambrose in Iowa.  His developed but not limited hobbies are- scream singing in the car alone, traveling the world (duh), experiencing anything new (double duh), laughing and the stars.

Me: Who is Grant?
Grant: Hi Chicago and world! It’s true, I’m obsessed with travel. Always looking for something new to experience. Love the flow and energy of meeting new people. Always excited for what’s next.

Me: List a few cities you’ve traveled to.

Grant: Australia, Thailand, Colombia, China, Bahrain, Copenhagen, London, Paris, Italy, Ireland, Canada, Barcelona, Costa Rica, Amsterdam.  Just to name a few. I enjoy so much of other cultures and seeing the world. I simply can’t stop
IMG_7111

Me: You’ve been traveling all over the world, why settle in Chicago for now?

Grant: I am constantly on the go and on the move. Chicago is a great home base as I continue to travel constantly. The midwest is has always been and continues to be good to me, I would like to have a place here, but continue to be on the move for work and adventure. There’s also a great creative movement in Chicago happening and I am proud to be part of it.Me: What would you say you’ve brought back to Chicago from your travels and how is the fashion and the community benefiting from your inspirations?

Grant: One thing I have learned is that people are wonderful anywhere you go, if you share common interests and characters. The world is vast and filled with inspiring people. But those same people live right around the block from you or down the street or even the next town over. Traveling has taught me that anything is possible and that everything that is a part of our life was made by people. It’s people that make life happen. If you are driven, passionate and kind you will do great things in your life. I find myself attracted to similar minded people through their kindness, creativity and overall inspiration in my own city while making new like minded friends in other cities.
GLMe: What’s a spot in Chicago that you most cherish?

Grant: hmm, a difficult question for sure. It constantly changes, I thrive off constant change, I don’t do well with consistency in any form. But the chicago skyline, seen from anywhere, is always a refreshing site. Makes me proud to be in this city and realize there is so much happening (here) all the time. It feels small most days, but seeing the skyline causes me to remember how big it is, and how big the world is as well.Me: Who’s your style icon (could be from the past like Grease characters, etc) 

Grant: Hmm, thats a good question. I dont know if I necessary have an icon that I look up to. I look up to James Dean and Cary Grant for their lifestyle.  Joseph Gordon-Levitt also has great style and a radical outlook on life. I wanna be like him when i grow upppp haha!
GLMe: Haha, you do share a name with Cary Grant and your brother is called Corey..hmm! Where would you take any of them to shop if they were visiting Chicago seeing that you’re a man after style? 

Grant: Haha, well I love classics, like denim and a good pair of shoes. Having worked at Haberdash for a little bit, and seeing the brands they carry, thats definitely a spot to check out.  Scotch & soda also has some killer stuff.
Me: You are successful, how has this city contributed to your success?
Grant: It’s people. I have met some amazing creatives and great business men. They have led me to great jobs and helped me to grow. I would be no where without them.
Me: So what keeps you going and motivated?
Grant: I find my most eye opening moments happen when I am in an unfamiliar place. People inspire me every day. I am so lucky to have the people in my life that are able to inspire me every single day. Motivation…being passionate about what I love to do and hearing stories from others about what they love to do. It strengthens. I constantly set new challenges for myself, getting over the next obstacle is what keeps me going.
Me: Speaking of strength, what’s made you stronger?

Grant: Honestly, probably traveling. I know I keep talking about it, but seeing new places and meeting new people has taught me so much. It has made me a better person.

I like that quote from the film into the wild – “the core of mans’ spirit comes from new experiences”.

Me: I like that saying! What’s exciting you right now?

Leaving next week for LA, looking forward to the west coast vibes, and as always meeting some new people to keep inspiring me.Me: I know you’re spontaneous and it’s your success mantra. But any future plans?

Grant: Oh lots. But I try not to think about them too much. I like taking it one day at a time.
Grant did not mention once that he’s a photographer which makes him truly humble and real in my eyes. In case you’re wondering- Grant is one of Chicago’s top fashion photographers with great edge and style.  Check our Grant’s work on: www.grantlegan.com 

5 thoughts on “A traveling celeb in the making: meet Grant Legan

  1. Great feature! Grant is one of the most talented people I know in Chicago. We worked together on a photoshoot for the launch of my website and he’s just a fantastic photographer with an extremely talented eye and attention to detail. Love!

Leave a comment